If you only need maps, web searches and internet messaging in Korea, a data-only eSIM is enough. If a restaurant waitlist or reservation needs to text a Korean number, choose a tourist eSIM that can receive SMS on a 010 number. If you also need to call a hotel, restaurant or local operator, check one more condition: receiving texts does not mean outgoing calls are included.
Passport verification causes the most confusion. A carrier can check your passport and Korean entry record, then enable calls and texts on a tourist line. That does not turn the line into Korean mobile identity verification for banking or government services. SKT and KT explicitly exclude personal authentication. LG U+ separates restaurant and taxi reservation codes from banking and government identity checks.
Start with the task you expect the phone to do.
| What you need in Korea | Required function | Product to choose |
|---|---|---|
| Maps, web and internet messaging | Mobile data | Data-only eSIM |
| A waitlist or reservation code sent to a Korean number | 010 number + incoming SMS | Tourist eSIM whose carrier and plan support incoming SMS |
| Calls to a hotel, restaurant or local contact | Outgoing voice | Plan with included minutes or available top-up |
| Korean mobile identity verification for banking or government services | Domestic identity authentication | A short-stay tourist eSIM cannot provide it |
The same base price hides three different call setups
On the official SKT, KT and LG U+ pages checked on October 19, 2026, the base prices for 3, 5 and 10 days were the same: ₩18,000, ₩27,500 and ₩38,500. Those prices do not buy the same call setup. The carriers use different steps to enable incoming SMS and different ways to add outgoing calls.
Treat these as the prices displayed on each product page. The reviewed pages did not provide one shared cross-carrier statement about tax treatment, so compare the final payment screen instead of assuming that each checkout handles tax and bundled extras in the same way.
| Official terms checked October 19, 2026 | SKT LTE tourist eSIM | KT tourist eSIM | LG U+ tourist eSIM |
|---|---|---|---|
| Base price for 3 / 5 / 10 days | ₩18,000 / ₩27,500 / ₩38,500 | ₩18,000 / ₩27,500 / ₩38,500 | ₩18,000 / ₩27,500 / ₩38,500 |
| Korean number and incoming service | Free incoming calls and texts after post-entry passport verification | Incoming calls and texts on a 010 number after entry check | General table lists incoming on both plans; reservation SMS is explicitly supported only with Voice/SMS service |
| Outgoing calls | Available after adding credit | Data cannot add voice; Data & Voice includes about 60 minutes | Start with 0 minutes, or choose 20 minutes for ₩5,500 or 60 for ₩16,500 |
| Data rule | Official page states LTE speeds of up to 100Mbps with no data cap | 11GB per day, then unlimited at 5Mbps | No published speed cap; congestion may slow service |
| Hotspot | Reviewed page states no separate LTE tethering cap; 5G is 1GB per day | No allowance stated on the official page reviewed | Hotspot permitted |
SKT’s official eSIM page says data can work before verification, but calls and texts open only after the passport check. Online verification through the email voucher is available from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily after Korean immigration. Outside those hours, use an airport counter. Incoming calls and texts are free. Outgoing calls and texts require balance top-up.
KT’s official eSIM page says its Data eSIM also has a 010 number and can receive calls and texts after the entry check. It cannot be topped up for voice later. If you need to make calls, choose Data & Voice at a KT airport center from the start. It costs ₩5,500 more than Data for 3, 5 or 10 days and includes about 60 minutes of domestic calls.
The fixed ₩5,500 difference equals 30.6% of the 3-day base price but 14.3% of the 10-day price. The calculations are 5,500 ÷ 18,000 and 5,500 ÷ 38,500. For a short trip, pay that premium for a planned call need rather than a vague “maybe I will call.” If you know you will call restaurants, accommodation or tour operators several times, KT’s inability to add voice to the Data plan matters more.
LG U+‘s official eSIM page needs a narrower reading. Its general feature table marks incoming calls and texts as available on both Data-only and Data+Voice, but the same page says restaurant and taxi SMS verification is not available on Data-only. If a waitlist or reservation code is the reason for getting a Korean number, choose Data+Voice. It requires passport verification at an airport counter, where the QR code is issued. Outgoing minutes are a separate choice: 0, 20 or 60. If you need a 010 number but do not expect to place calls, you can begin with zero outgoing minutes.

A passport check activates the line, not Korean mobile identity
The word “verification” is used for two different processes. Showing a passport online or at an airport counter identifies the user to the carrier and can activate calls and texts on a tourist number. Korean banks, government websites and some payment services ask for domestic mobile identity verification. A short-stay tourist line does not provide the second function.
LG U+ defines a narrower useful case. It says SMS on Data+Voice can be used for restaurant and taxi reservation apps, while banking and government identity verification is not supported. Even then, the wording does not guarantee that every waitlist, restaurant or taxi app will accept every tourist line. Acceptance can differ by service.
SKT says texts related to personal authentication and payments cannot be received. KT states that its eSIM does not support personal authentication. A product page that advertises a 010 number is therefore not promising the full set of authentication functions available to a Korean resident line.
You may still need one-time passwords from your bank or card issuer at home. On a Dual SIM phone, you can keep the home SIM assigned to calls and texts while the Korean eSIM handles data. Whether overseas SMS reaches the home line, and what it costs, depends on the home carrier.
A Dcard poster shown as Chung Yuan University wrote in an update marked June 20 that, during that Korea trip, removing an international-roaming restriction from the home line did not make verification messages arrive immediately. More than a dozen delayed texts appeared together six hours later. The publication year and exact trip dates are not exposed on the indexed page. This is one experience, not a normal delivery time. It shows that receiving home-bank codes and buying a Korean number solve separate problems.
Travelers who needed a number had a specific use for it
Reddit user red821673 wrote on January 26, 2026 that a Ubigi data eSIM had been enough on a previous Korea trip because they did not order food. The exact trip date was not stated. A trip built around maps, messaging and ordering in person can work with data alone.
Once the itinerary includes a restaurant booking, the answer changes. In a PTT thread posted August 22, 2023, user helical said on August 23 that a KT eSIM with a Korean number received SMS and had no data problem on a trip a few weeks earlier. In the same thread, user yt006 said a phone-number eSIM worked smoothly and had been chosen for restaurant bookings. The exact trip dates were not stated. These are 2023 experiences, so current product conditions still come from KT’s official page.
Reddit user volandkit wrote in a September 4, 2026 thread that an LG U+ eSIM bought in advance was set up with passport verification at an Incheon Airport counter in about two minutes on an earlier trip whose exact date was not stated. That is one smooth setup, not a promised counter time. Reddit user kamsui83 wrote in comments dated August 11 and October 22, 2025 that an LG U+ 010 eSIM used during a 60-day stay was extended by 30 days in Korea; the stay’s exact start date was not stated.
Reddit user StatusTechnical8943 reported on October 9, 2026, while using an SKT eSIM during a two-week Korea stay, that incoming calls and texts were free but outgoing calls or texts required added balance. The exact arrival date was not stated. That matches the present official rule, but the amount this traveler paid is not used as a current list price.
A Dcard poster shown as National Taipei University described a completed concert trip in a post indexed about 1.7 years before October 19, 2026; the exact publication and trip dates were not exposed. The unlimited data plan worked smoothly outside but had no signal inside KSPO DOME. In a crowded venue, indoor coverage and congestion can matter more than whether the eSIM has a number.
Check the install deadline and exact phone before paying
All three carriers require an eSIM-capable, carrier-unlocked phone. Seeing an EID in settings is helpful, but it is not enough to prove compatibility with every tourist product. Check the exact model on the carrier’s list.

Do not buy too early without checking the scan deadline. SKT’s QR code must be scanned within 180 days of purchase. KT shows a 90-day label in one place, but its caution says to install within 30 days and warns of automatic termination without a refund. Follow the stricter 30-day instruction. LG U+ requires activation within 60 days, and the usage period starts when data is first used.
Those are QR-scan or activation deadlines, not one shared rule for when paid service days begin. LG U+ explicitly starts the usage period at first data use. Follow the SKT or KT voucher for that plan’s service-start rule rather than treating the purchase date, QR deadline and first service day as interchangeable.
LG U+ also publishes inconsistent brand exclusions. Its product page and FAQ exclude Pixel and OPPO, while a setup guide also adds Motorola. For those three brands, do not rely on EID alone; confirm the exact model with LG U+ before purchase.
If hotspot use is essential, do not stop at the phrase “unlimited data.” The reviewed SKT page states no separate LTE tethering cap, while it limits 5G tethering to 1GB a day. LG U+ explicitly permits hotspot use. The KT product page reviewed for this article did not publish a tethering allowance, so ask KT for the current rule before buying if a laptop connection is essential.
Choose data-only for maps, searches and internet messaging. Add a 010-capable plan with incoming SMS when a Korean waitlist or reservation code is part of the itinerary. If outgoing calls are planned, compare KT Data & Voice’s included minutes with SKT and LG U+ top-up options. If the goal is Korean mobile identity verification for banking or government services, none of these tourist eSIMs solves it.
Checked on: 2026-10-19.
Sources & verification
A source-based guide. Check the linked operator information again before you travel.
- SK Telecom LTE tourist eSIMSources checked:
- KT tourist eSIMSources checked:
- LG U+ tourist eSIMSources checked:
- LG U+ eSIM FAQSources checked:
- Apple Support: Using Dual SIM with an eSIMSources checked:
- Reddit traveler account: volandkitSources checked:
- Reddit traveler account: StatusTechnical8943Sources checked:
- Reddit traveler account: red821673Sources checked:
- Reddit traveler account: kamsui83Sources checked:
- PTT Korea Travel discussion: helical and yt006Sources checked:
- Dcard traveler account: home-line SMS delaySources checked:
- Dcard traveler account: LG U+ airport activationSources checked:
- Dcard traveler account: KSPO DOME coverageSources checked:
Images are examples to aid understanding.
Help us keep this note useful
A quick response helps us decide what to clarify or recheck. No account or email is needed.
